close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

General Information

Photo of map of Northeast Arkansas Counties - Jackson, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross, Mississippi, CrittendenPoinsett County is located in the northeastern section of the state. It is bounded on the north by Craighead County; on the east by Mississippi County; on the south by Crittenden and Cross County and on the west by Jackson County. According to the 2010 Census the population is 24,583.

Its area is 756 square miles. Running north and south through the center is Crowley's Ridge, a unique geological phenomenon. East and west of this highland are level fertile valleys and prairies where cotton, rice, milo, wheat, corn and soybean farming is carried on successfully. Cattle is also very popular in this area.

Poinsett County is divided into:

Photo of Poinsett County Township mapTen Civil Townships:
Bolivar     Dobson     Greenfield     Greenwood     Little River
Owen      Scott         Tyronza        West Prairie   Willis

Eight Incorporated Cities:   City Information

Marked Tree

Six School Districts:

06 - Harrisburg School District
07 - Cross County School District
14 - East Poinsett County School District
21 - Trumann School District
28 - Marked Tree School District
31 - Jackson County School District

And many Communities past and present - including:
Alto, Mulligan, Anderson Tully, North Pitts, Bay Village, Northern Ohio, Beasley, Old Weona, Black Oak, Payneway, Boat Run, Pittinger, Brushey Lake, Pitts, Cassidy, Rivervale, Deckerville, Shady Grove, Dewey Mill, Spear Lake, Dobell, Stacy, Donnick, Stevens Landing, Dub, Stewart, Frys Mill, Tulot, Gaulett, Tyronza Junction, Greenfield, Uno, Hatchie Coon, Walnut Grove Corner, Hydrick, Weona, Joyland, Weona Junction, Judd Hill, Whitehall, Landers, Wilbeth, Maple Grove, Wiley Crossing, McCormick, Yellow Banks, Mount Olive